Local, Independant and Effective

About Indi


The electorate of Indi has existed continuously since Federation. It was created in 1900 and was one of the original divisions contested at the first federal election.

Indi is the local Aboriginal word for the Murray River.

This is appropriate as the electorate begins following the Murray River, stretching all the way from Corryong to Marysville. A sprawling electorate, Indi covers some 28,000 square kms – one of the largest electorates in Victoria.

It is a region of mountains, rivers, valleys and plains.


Within its border are 7 major watersheds: the Goulburn, Broken, King, Ovens, Kiewa, Mitta and Murray Rivers, which contribute an estimated 50% of the water to the Murray Darling Basin. Indi also includes all the major Victorian ski resorts and some of the most picturesque national parks in the country.

The major urban centres of Wodonga, Wangaratta and Benalla service large areas of agricultural land, the snowfields and forest-based tourism.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.