Local, Independant and Effective

ANZAC Centenary projects add to memory of ANZAC in Indi

April 23, 2015
Contact: Simon Crase

Cropped_Indi_Anzac_Grants_committee.jpgCommemorations in Indi to mark the landing at Gallipoli 100 years ago have been enhanced through ANZAC Centenary projects. Independent Member for Indi, Cathy McGowan AO, thanked the local groups responsible for planning and implementing ANZAC Centenary projects.

Ms McGowan said the ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Program had been a worthy and important initiative provided by the Federal Government. Local community groups were engaged in the process and RSLs in Indi provided excellent input during the submission phase.

“This program has provided communities with the chance to proceed with ANZAC projects that will have significant prominence for the ANZAC Centenary,” Ms McGowan said.

“The 13 RSLs are key community groups in Indi, which has a strong and rich history of military involvement and this must be recognised and honoured through projects for perpetuity.”

Ms McGowan said the diversity of projects demonstrated how the ANZAC story had become such a big part of Australian culture.

As part of the centenary of ANZAC in 2015, the Department of Veterans’ Affairs (DVA) made $125,000 available to fund projects across Indi. Ms McGowan honoured a decision made by the Indi ANZAC Committee to cap individual grants at $10,000 to ensure the greatest number of communities receive access to the funds.

“Thanks to the Indi ANZAC Committee (see below) for the professional and diligent approach to assessing the applications for submission to the DVA. It was a privilege to work with them on this program,” she said.

With $125,000 of Federal funding coming into Indi, Ms McGowan said this delivered another benefit for communities. “These projects will also have great value for tourism. Any attractions adding to what is now offered in our communities helps keep visitors in the North East longer.”

2015 ANZAC Centenary Local Grants

Rutherglen RSL Sub-Branch - $7980                

Benalla RSL Sub-Branch - $8980

Lucyvale Tennis Club – $5990

Greta Sporting Complex – $8980

Whorouly Memorial Park Committee – $4985

Jamieson Community Group – $4250

Wangaratta RSL Sub-Branch – $8980

Kiewa RSL Sub-Branch – $5840

Corryong RSL Sub-Branch – $8700

Mansfield RSL Sub-Branch – $8487

Beechworth RSL Sub-Branch – $8416

Bright RSL Sub-Branch– $3615

Wangaratta High School – $3883

Mansfield Historical Society – $8250

Beechworth Theatre Company – $4467

Chiltern Athenaeum – $5800

Myrtleford RSL Sub-Branch – $10,000

Bonegilla Hall – $1287

Bonegilla Hall Management Committee – $4432

Chiltern Athenaeum – $505

Eskdale Primary School – $750

Indi ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Committee (pictured)

Mr David Martin OAM - Secretary, Rutherglen RSL Sub Branch

Mr Bruce Bingham - President, Mansfield RSL Sub Branch

Mr Doug Brockfield - Milawa Heritage Group

Nr Norm Fearn - Wangaratta RSL Sub Branch

Ms Barbara Riedel - Legacy Representative, Army Logistics Training Centre (absent)

Mr Peter Dixon - community Representative, Wodonga 

Mr Kevyn Williams - President, Wodonga RSL Sub Branch

Mr Henry Andrews - President, Alexandra RSL

Mr Doug Williams - Benalla RSL Sub Branch


Go to top

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.