Local, Independant and Effective
December 10, 2015

Government asks Member for Indi to nominate priority mobile black spots

Independent Member for Indi, Cathy McGowan AO, is urging residents to nominate their mobile phone black spots before December 31, 2015.

Ms McGowan encourages people to work closely with their council to identify black spots. Representatives from each Indi council are on the Indi Telecommunications Action Group (ITAG).

Priority black spot areas will be chosen for Indi based on information provided by ITAG, people’s safety in emergencies and community support. Kancoona in the Alpine Shire will be carried over from Round 1 and included as a priority.  

“As the federal member for Indi, I will be selecting three priority locations for Round 2 consideration,” Ms McGowan said.

“Our strategic approach and effective lobbying delivered the third highest number of mobile phone stations in Australia in Round 1 of the Mobile Black Spot Programme.”

Indi received 30 new base stations to improve coverage when Round 1 was announced in June this year. 293 black spots were nominated, and 200 will be eliminated when the Round 1 work is completed.

“Round 2 gives us an opportunity to further improve coverage in Indi,” Ms McGowan said.

New nominations will be added to the national black spot database.

“I call on the Minister for Communications, Senator Mitch Fifield, to release the selection guidelines for Round 2 as soon as possible,” Ms McGowan said.

The Government has committed $60 million to Round 2 of the MBSP.







Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.